الرَّقابة

إذا لم تتمكن من تنزيل متصفح تور من خلال موقعنا إلكتروني، فيمكنك الحصول على نسخة من متصفح تور يتم تسليمها إليك عبر GetTor. تردُّ خدمة GetTor على الرسائل تلقائيا وترسل روابط لأحدث نسخة لمتصفح تور. تكون الروابط مستضافة على مواقع أقل عرضة للحظر، مثل Dropbox و Google Drive و GitHub. يمكنك الطلب عبر البريد الإلكتروني‫ أو عبر برنامج تلغرام الآلي‎‏ https://t.me/gettor_bot. يمكنك أيضا تنزيل متصفح تور من https://tor.eff.org أو من https://tor.calyxinstitute.org/.

أرسل رسالة إلكترونية إلى gettor@torproject.org في نص الرسالة، اكتب اسم نظام التشغيل الخاص بك (مثل وينْدوزْ أو نظام التشغيل ماكْ أو لينَكْسْ). سوف يردُّ GetTor برسالة إلكترونية تحتوي على روابط يمكنك من خلالها تنزيل متصفح تور، وهو التوقيع المُعمّى (مطلوب للتحقق من التنزيل)، وبصمة المفتاح المستخدم الذي أنشأ التوقيع، والمجموع الاختباري للحزمة. قد يُعرَض عليك خيار برنامج من الصنف "32 بِتْ" أو "64 بِتْ": هذا يعتمد على طراز الحاسوب الذي تستخدمه ؛ تفقد الوثائق حول حاسوبك لمعرفة المزيد.

إذا كنت تشك في أن حكومتك أو مزود خدمة الإنترنت (ISP) قد قام بتنفيذ شكل من أشكال الرقابة أو التصفية على الإنترنت، فيمكنك اختبار ما إذا كانت شبكة تور محظورة باستخدام OONI Probe. OONI Probe هو تطبيق مجاني ومفتوح المصدر طُوّر بواسطة المرصد المفتوح لتداخل الشبكات (OONI). وهو مصمم لاختبار وقياس مواقع الويب وتطبيقات المراسلة وأدوات التحايل التي قد يتم حظرها.

قبل إجراء اختبارات القياس هذه، يُرجى قراءة توصيات OONI الأمنية وتقييم المخاطر بعناية. كأي أداة اختبار أخرى، يرجى الانتباه إلى الاختبارات الإيجابية الكاذبة مع OONI.

للتحقق مما إذا كان تور محظورًا، يمكنك تثبيت OONI Probe على جهازك المحمول أو على سطح مكتبك، وتشغيل "اختبار التحايل". يمكن أن يكون اختبار OONI تور بمثابة مؤشر على كتلة محتملة لشبكة تور، ولكن التحليل الشامل من قبل المطورين لدينا أمر بالغ الأهمية لإجراء تقييم نهائي.

بالتّأكيد، يمكن لمتصفح تور مساعدة الناس في الوصول إلى موقعك الإلكتروني في الأماكن التي تم حظره فيها. في الغالب، يكفي تنزيل متصفح تور ومن ثم استخدامه في تصفح الموقع المحجوب لكي يصبح متاحا الوصول إليه. في الأماكن التي تسود فيها الرقابة الشديدة، لدينا عدد من الخيارات المتاحة لتجاوُز الرقابة، بما في ذلك النواقل القابلة للوصل.

لمزيد من المعلومات، راجع دليل مستخدم متصفح تور لتجاوُز الرقابة.

إذا كانت تواجهك مشكلة في الاتصال، فقد تظهر رسالة خطأ ويمكنك تحديد الخيار ”نسخ سجل تور إلى الحافظة“. ثم الصق سجل تور في ملف نصي أو في مستند آخر.

إذا كنت لا ترى هذا الخيار وكان متصفح تور مفتوحا، يمكنك الانتقال إلى قائمة الهامْبَرْغَرْ ("≡")] ، ثم اضغط على "الإعدادات"، وأخيرا على "اتصال" في الشريط الجانبي. في أسفل الصفحة بجوار "عرض سجلات تور" قم بالضغط على زر "عرض السجلات...".

بدلا من ذلك، في أنظمة لينَكْسْ GNU/Linux، لعرض السجلات مباشرة في الطرفية، انتقل إلى مجلد متصفح تور وقم بتشغيل متصفح تور من سطر الأوامر عن طريق تشغيل:

./start-tor-browser.desktop --verbose

أو لحفظ السجلات في ملف (الافتراضي: tor-browser.log)

./start-tor-browser.desktop --log [file]

من المفترض أن ترى أحد أخطاء السجل الشائعة (ابحث عن الأسطر التالية في سجل تور الخاص بك):

خطأ السجل الشائع رقم #1: فشل اتصال الوكيل

2017-10-29 09:23:40.800 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server
2017-10-29 09:24:08.900 [WARN] Proxy Client: unable to connect to xx..xxx..xxx.xx:xxxxx ("general SOCKS server failure")

إذا رأيت سطورا مثل هذه في سجل تور الخاص بك، فهذا يعني أنك تفشل في الاتصال بوكيل SOCKS. إذا كان خادم وكيل SOCKS مطلوبا لإعداد شبكتك، فيرجى التأكد من إدخال تفاصيل الوكيل بشكل صحيح. إذا لم يكن وكيل SOCKS مطلوبا، أو لم تكن متأكدا، فيرجى محاولة الاتصال بشبكة تور بدون وكيل SOCKS.

خطأ السجل الشائع رقم #2: لا يمكن الوصول إلى مُرحّلات الحراسة

11/1/2017 21:11:43 PM.500 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 80%: Connecting to the Tor network
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.500 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 85%: Finishing handshake with first hop
11/1/2017 21:11:45 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.

إذا رأيت خطوطا مثل هذه في سجل تور الخاص بك، فهذا يعني أن تور الخاص بك قد فشل في الاتصال بالعقدة الأولى في مسار تور. قد يعني هذا أنك في شبكة خاضعة للرقابة.

يرجى محاولة الاتصال بالجسور، إذ ذلك من المفترض أن يحل المشكلة.

خطأ السجل الشائع رقم #3: فشل إكمال اتصال TLS

13-11-17 19:52:24.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] Problem bootstrapping. Stuck at 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server. (DONE; DONE; count 10; recommendation warn; host [host] at xxx.xxx.xxx.xx:xxx) 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] 10 connections have failed: 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  9 connections died in state handshaking (TLS) with SSL state SSLv2/v3 read server hello A in HANDSHAKE 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  1 connections died in state connect()ing with SSL state (No SSL object)

إذا رأيت سطورا مثل هذه في سجل تور الخاص بك، فهذا يعني أن تور فشل في إكمال اتصال TLS مع السلطات الدليلية. من المحتمل أن يؤدي استخدام الجسور إلى إصلاح هذا.

خطأ السجل الشائع رقم #4: انحراف الساعة

19.11.2017 00:04:47.400 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.000 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.200 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.800 [WARN] Received NETINFO cell with skewed time (OR:xxx.xx.x.xx:xxxx): It seems that our clock is behind by 1 days, 0 hours, 1 minutes, or that theirs is ahead. Tor requires an accurate clock to work: please check your time, timezone, and date settings.

إذا رأيت سطورا مثل هذه في سجل تور الخاص بك، فهذا يعني أن ساعة نظامك غير صحيحة. يرجى التأكد من ضبط ساعتك بدقة، بما في ذلك المنطقة الزمنية الصحيحة. ثم أعد تشغيل تور.

إن مُرحّلات الجسور هي مُرحّلات تور غير المُدرَجة في مجلد تور العمومي.

هذا يعني أن مزودي خدمة الانترنت أو الحكومات التي تحاول منع الوصول إلى شبكة تور لا يمكنها ببساطة حظر جميع الجسور. إن الجسور مفيدة لمستخدمي تور الذين يعانون من وجود أنظمة قمعية في بلادهم، وللأشخاص الذين يريدون طبقة حماية إضافية بسبب خشيتهم من اكتشاف شخص أنهم يتصلون بعنوان IP مُرحّل تور العمومي.

إن الجسر هو مجرد مُرحّل عادي، لكن تهيئته مختلفة قليلا. راجع كيف يمكنني تشغيل الجسر للحصول على التعليمات.

وجدت العديد من الدول، بما في ذلك الصين وإيران، طرقا لاكتشاف ومنع الاتصالات بجسور تور. تتعامل جسور Obfsproxy عن طريق إضافة طبقة أخرى من التشويش. إن إعداد الجسر obfs ليكون وكيلا يتطلب حزمة برامج إضافية وتهيئات إضافية. راجع صفحتنا على وسائل النقل القابلة للتوصيل لمزيد من المعلومات.

إن ندفة الثلج (Snowflake) هو اسم ناقل قابل للوصل‪‪‫‪‪‫ ‏ متوفر في تور متصفح ‏للتغلب على الرقابة على الانترنت. مثل جسر تور، يمكن للمستخدم الوصول إلى الانترنت المفتوح حتى عندما تكون اتصالات تور العادية خاضعة للرقابة. استخدام ’ندفة الثلج‘ سهل مثل الانتقال إلى تهيئة جسر جديد في متصفح تور.

يتكون هذا النظام من ثلاثة مكونات: المتطوعون الذين يقومون بتشغيل وكلاء ’ندفة الثلج‘، ومستخدمي تور الذين يرغبون في الاتصال بالانترنت، والوسيط، الذي يقدم وكلاء ’ندفة الثلج‘ للمستخدمين.

يمكن للمتطوعين الراغبين في مساعدة المستخدمين على الشبكات الخاضعة للرقابة أن يقدموا المساعدة من خلال تثبيت وكلاء قصيري العمر في متصفحاتهم العادية. اطلع على كيف يمكنني استخدام ’ندفة الثلج‘؟

يستخدم الناقل ’ندفة الثلج‘ تقنية النطاق الصوري domain-fronting عالية الفعالية لإنشاء اتصال بواحد من آلاف وكلاء ندفة الثلج التي يديرها متطوعون. هؤلاء الوكلاء يكونون خفيفي الوزن وسريعي الزوال وأسهل في التشغيل، مما يسمح لنا بتوسيع نطاق ’ندفة الثلج‘ بسهولة أكبر من التقنيات السابقة.

بالنسبة للمستخدمين الخاضعين للرقابة، إذا تم حظر وكيل ناقل ’ندفة الثلج‘ الخاص بك، فسيجد الوسيط وكيلا جديدا لك تلقائيا.

إذا كنت مهتما بالتفاصيل الفنية والمواصفات، فراجع نظرة عامة تقنية حول ندفة الثلج وصفحة المشروع. لإجراء مناقشات أخرى حول ندفة الثلج، يرجى زيارة منتدى تور ومتابعة وسم ندفة الثلج.

يتوفر الناقل ’ندفة الثلج‘ في متصفح تور المستقر، لجميع الأنظمة الأساسية: ويندوز ونظام التشغيل ماك ونظام جْنو-لينَكْسْ و نظام أندرويد. يمكنك أيضًا استخدام ”ندفة الثلج“ (Snowflake) مع المتصفح Onion على iOS.

إذا كنت تقوم بتشغيل متصفح تور للحاسوب لأول مرة، فيمكنك الضغط على "تهيئ الاتصال" في شاشة بدء التشغيل. ضمن قسم "الجسور"، حدد الخيار "اختر من أحد الجسور المدمجة في متصفح تور" واضغط على خيار "تحديد جسر مدمج". من القائمة، حدد 'ندفة الثلج Snowflake'. بمجرد تحديدك ندفة الثلج، قم بالتمرير لأعلى واضغط على 'الاتصال' لحفظ إعداداتك.

من داخل المتصفح، يمكنك الضغط على قائمة الهامْبَرْغَرْ ("≡")، ثم انتقل إلى "الإعدادات" وبعدها انتقل إلى "الاتصال". بدلاً من ذلك، يمكنك أيضا كتابة about:preferences#connection في شريط العناوين. ضمن قسم "الجسور"، حدد الخيار "اختر من أحد الجسور المدمجة في متصفح تور" واضغط على خيار "تحديد جسر مدمج". من القائمة، حدد 'ندفة الثلج Snowflake'.

إذا لم يكن وصولك إلى الانترنت خاضعا للرقابة، فيجب أن تفكر في تثبيت ملحق ”ندفة الثلج“ لمساعدة المستخدمين في الشبكات الخاضعة للرقابة. عند تشغيل Snowflake على متصفحك العادي، ستقوم بتوكيل حركة المرور بين المستخدمين الخاضعين للرقابة وعقدة دخول في شبكة تور، وهذا كل شيء.

نظرًا للرقابة على خوادم VPN في بعض البلدان، نطلب منك عدم تشغيل وكيل snowflake أثناء الاتصال بشبكة VPN.

الملحق

تأكد أولاً من تمكين WebRTC. ثم يمكنك تثبيت هذا الملحق لمتصفح فَيَرْفُكْسْ أو الملحق لمتصفح كروم والتي ستتيح لك أن تصبح وكيلا بناقل ’Snowflake‘. يمكنه أيضا إخبارك بعدد الأشخاص الذين ساعدتهم خلال الـ 24 ساعة الماضية.

صفحة الانترنت

في متصفح تم تفعيل WebRTC فيه: إذا كنت لا ترغب في إضافة ندفة الثلج إلى متصفحك، فيمكنك الانتقال إلى https://snowflake.torproject.org/embed وتبديل الزر للاشتراك في أن تكون وكيلا. يجب ألا تغلق هذه الصفحة إذا كنت تريد أن تظل وكيلا لناقل ’ندفة الثلج‘.

يحتاج المستخدمون في الصين إلى اتخاذ بضع خطوات للتحايل على جدار الحماية العظيم والاتصال بشبكة تور.

To get an updated version of Tor Browser, try the Telegram bot first: @gettor_bot. إذا لم يفلح ذلك، يمكنك إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى gettor@torproject.orgمع الموضوعwindows" ‎"‏، "macos"، أو "linux" لنظام التشغيل المعني.

بعد التثبيت، سيحاول متصفح تور الاتصال بشبكة تور. إذا تم حظر تور في موقعك، فسيحاول مساعد الاتصال (Connection Assist) ربط الاتصال تلقائيا باستخدام الجسر أو من خلال الناقل ”ندفة الثلج“. ولكن إذا لم ينجح ذلك، فستكون الخطوة الثانية هي الحصول على جسر يعمل في الصين.

هناك ثلاثة خيارات لإلغاء حظر تور في الصين:

  1. ندفة الثلج: تستخدم وكلاء سريعي الزوال للاتصال بشبكة تور. إنه متاح في متصفح تور و تطبيقات تور الأخرى مثل برنامج أوربوتْ. يمكنك تحديد الناقل ”ندفة الثلج“ (Snowflake) من قائمة الجسور المدمجة في متصفح تور.
  2. جسور obfs4 الخاصة وغير المدرجة: اتصل بنظامنا الآلي في تِلِغْرامْ ‎@GetBridgesBot واكتب‪ ./ bridges. أو أرسل بريدًا إلكترونيًا إلى frontdesk@torproject.org مع وضع الجملة private bridge cn في موضوع رسالة البريد الإلكتروني. إذا كنت خبيرا في التكنولوجيا، فيمكنك تشغيل جسرك obfs4 من خارج الصين‏‫. تذكر أن الجسور الموزعة بواسطة BridgeDB والجسور المدمجة obfs4 المُجمَّعة في متصفح تور لن تعمل على الأرجح.
  3. meek-azure: يجعل الأمر يبدو وكأنك تتصفح موقعا إلكترونيا لشركة مايكْروسوفْتْ بدلا من استخدام تور. ومع ذلك، نظرا لوجود قيود على سعة القناة، سيكون هذا الخيار بطيئا للغاية. يمكنك تحديد الناقل meek-azure من القائمة المنسدلة للجسور المدمجة في متصفح تور.

إذا كان أحد هذه الخيارات أعلاه لا يعمل، فتحقق من سجلات تور]‫ وجرب خيارا آخر.

If you need help, you can contact our support team on Telegram Tor Project Support and Signal.

If you have exhausted general troubleshooting steps, it's possible that your connection to Tor is censored. In that case, connecting with one of the built-in censorship circumvention methods in Tor Browser can help. Connection Assist can automatically choose one for you using your location.

If Connection Assist is unable to facilitate the connection to Tor, you can configure Tor Browser to use one of the built-in circumvention methods manually. To use bridges and access other censorship circumvention related settings, click "Configure Connection" when starting Tor Browser for the first time. In the "Bridges" section, locate the option "Choose from one of Tor Browser's built-in bridges" and click on the "Select a built-In bridge" option. From the menu, select a censorship circumvention method you would like to use.

أو، إذا كان لديك متصفح تور قيد التشغيل، فاضغط على "الإعدادات" في قائمة الهامْبَرْغَرْ (≡) ثم على "الاتصال" في الشريط الجانبي. In the "Bridges" section, locate the option "Choose from one of Tor Browser's built-in bridges" and click on the "Select a built-In bridge" option. Choose whichever censorship circumvention method you would like to use from the menu. Your settings will automatically be saved once you close the tab.

If you need other bridges, you can get them from our Bridges website. For more information about bridges, please refer to the Tor Browser user manual.

يمكنك العثور على إرشادات محدثة حول كيفية التحايل على الرقابة والاتصال بـتور من روسيا على دليل المنتدى الخاص بنا: تم حظر تور في روسيا - كيفية التحايل على الرقابة.

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مساعدة، تواصل معنا عبر تيليجرام، واتساب، Signal، أو عبر البريد الإلكتروني frontdesk@torproject.org. للحصول على تعليمات التحايل على الرقابة، استخدم "private Bridge ru" كسطر موضوع لبريدك الإلكتروني.

في بعض الأحيان، تحظر المواقع الإلكترونية مستخدمي تور لأنهم لا يستطيعون التمييز بين مستخدم معتاد لِتور وحركة المرور الآلية. إن أفضل نجاح حققناه في جعل المواقع تزيل حظر مستخدمي تور هو جعل المستخدمين يتصلون بالمسؤولين عن تلك الموقع مباشرة. شيء من هذا القبيل قد يفي بالغرض:

"مرحبا! لقد حاولتُ الوصول إلى موقعك xyz.com أثناء استخدام متصفح تور واكتشفتُ أنك لا تسمح لمستخدمي تور بالوصول إلى موقعك. أحثك بكل جدية على إعادة النظر في هذا القرار. يُستخدَم تور من قبل الأشخاص في جميع أنحاء العالم لحماية خصوصيتهم ومحاربة الرقابة. عند حظر مستخدمي تور، من المحتمل أنك تحظر الأشخاص في البلدان القمعية الذين يرغبون في استخدام الانترنت الحر، وكذا الصحفيين والباحثين الذين يرغبون في حماية أنفسهم من اكتشافهم والمبلغين عن المخالفات والنشطاء والأشخاص العاديين الذين لا يرغبون جهات خارجية في تعقب نشاطاتهم. يرجى اتخاذ موقف صارم لصالح الخصوصية الرقمية وحرية الانترنت، والسماح لمستخدمي تور بالوصول إلى xyz.com. شكرا جزيلا."

في حالة المصارف والمواقع الحساسة الأخرى، من الشائع أيضا أن ترى حظرا قائما على الموقع الجغرافي (إذا كان المصرف يعلم أنك تصل إلى خدماته بشكل عام من بلد ما، وفجأة تتصل من مُرحّل خروج على الجانب الآخر من العالم، فقد يتم قفل حسابك أو تعليقه).

إذا كنت غير قادر على الاتصال بخدمة بصلية، يرجى مراجعة لا أستطيع الوصول إلى X.onion!.

Censorship

If you can't download Tor Browser through our website, you can get a copy of Tor Browser delivered to you via GetTor. GetTor is a service that automatically responds to messages with links to the latest version of Tor Browser, hosted at a variety of locations that are less likely to be censored, such as Dropbox, Google Drive, and GitHub. You can also download Tor Browser from https://tor.eff.org or from https://tor.calyxinstitute.org/.

Send an email to gettor@torproject.org. In the body of the mail, write the name of your operating system (such as Windows, macOS, or Linux). GetTor will respond with an email containing links from which you can download Tor Browser, the cryptographic signature (needed for verifying the download), the fingerprint of the key used to make the signature, and the package’s checksum. You may be offered a choice of "32-bit" or "64-bit" software: this depends on the model of the computer you are using; consult documentation about your computer to find out more.

GetTor via Twitter is currently under maintenance. Please use the email instead.

Tor Browser can certainly help people access your website in places where it is blocked. Most of the time, simply downloading the Tor Browser and then using it to navigate to the blocked site will allow access. In places where there is heavy censorship we have a number of censorship circumvention options available, including pluggable transports.

For more information, please see the Tor Browser User Manual section on censorship circumvention.

If you’re having trouble connecting, an error message may appear and you can select the option to "copy Tor log to clipboard". Then paste the Tor log into a text file or other document.

If you don't see this option and you have Tor Browser open, you can navigate to the hamburger menu ("≡"), then click on "Preferences", and finally on "Tor" in the side bar. At the bottom of the page, next to the "View the Tor logs" text, click the button "View Logs...".

Alternatively, on GNU/Linux, to view the logs right in the terminal, navigate to the Tor Browser directory and launch the Tor Browser from the command line by running:

./start-tor-browser.desktop --verbose

or to save the logs to a file (default: tor-browser.log)

./start-tor-browser.desktop --log [file]

You should see one of these common log errors (look for the following lines in your Tor log):

Common log error #1: Proxy connection failure

2017-10-29 09:23:40.800 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server
2017-10-29 09:24:08.900 [WARN] Proxy Client: unable to connect to xx..xxx..xxx.xx:xxxxx ("general SOCKS server failure")

If you see lines like these in your Tor log, it means you are failing to connect to a SOCKS proxy. If a SOCKS proxy is required for your network setup, then please make sure you’ve entered your proxy details correctly. If a SOCKS proxy is not required, or you’re not sure, please try connecting to the Tor network without a SOCKS proxy.

Common log error #2: Can’t reach guard relays

11/1/2017 21:11:43 PM.500 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 80%: Connecting to the Tor network
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.500 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 85%: Finishing handshake with first hop
11/1/2017 21:11:45 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.

If you see lines like these in your Tor log, it means your Tor failed to connect to the first node in the Tor circuit. This could mean that you’re on a network that’s censored.

Please try connecting with bridges, and that should fix the problem.

Common log error #3: Failed to complete TLS handshake

13-11-17 19:52:24.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] Problem bootstrapping. Stuck at 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server. (DONE; DONE; count 10; recommendation warn; host [host] at xxx.xxx.xxx.xx:xxx) 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] 10 connections have failed: 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  9 connections died in state handshaking (TLS) with SSL state SSLv2/v3 read server hello A in HANDSHAKE 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  1 connections died in state connect()ing with SSL state (No SSL object)

If you see lines like this in your Tor log, it means that Tor failed to complete a TLS handshake with the directory authorities. Using bridges will likely fix this.

Common log error #4: Clock skew

19.11.2017 00:04:47.400 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.000 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.200 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.800 [WARN] Received NETINFO cell with skewed time (OR:xxx.xx.x.xx:xxxx): It seems that our clock is behind by 1 days, 0 hours, 1 minutes, or that theirs is ahead. Tor requires an accurate clock to work: please check your time, timezone, and date settings.

If you see lines like this in your Tor log, it means your system clock is incorrect. Please make sure your clock is set accurately, including the correct timezone. Then restart Tor.

Bridge relays are Tor relays that are not listed in the public Tor directory.

That means that ISPs or governments trying to block access to the Tor network can't simply block all bridges. Bridges are useful for Tor users under oppressive regimes, and for people who want an extra layer of security because they're worried somebody will recognize that they are contacting a public Tor relay IP address.

A bridge is just a normal relay with a slightly different configuration. See How do I run a bridge for instructions.

Several countries, including China and Iran, have found ways to detect and block connections to Tor bridges. Obfsproxy bridges address this by adding another layer of obfuscation. Setting up an obfsproxy bridge requires an additional software package and additional configurations. See our page on pluggable transports for more info.

Snowflake is a pluggable transport available in Tor Browser to defeat internet censorship. Like a Tor bridge, a user can access the open internet when even regular Tor connections are censored. To use Snowflake is as easy as to switch to a new bridge configuration in Tor Browser.

This system is composed of three components: volunteers running Snowflake proxies, Tor users that want to connect to the internet, and a broker, that delivers snowflake proxies to users.

Volunteers willing to help users on censored networks can help by spinning short-lived proxies on their regular browsers. Check, how can I use Snowflake?

Snowflake uses the highly effective domain fronting technique to make a connection to one of the thousands of snowflake proxies run by volunteers. These proxies are lightweight, ephemeral, and easy to run, allowing us to scale Snowflake more easily than previous techniques.

For censored users, if your Snowflake proxy gets blocked, the broker will find a new proxy for you, automatically.

If you're interested in the technical details and specification, see the Snowflake Technical Overview and the project page. For other discussions about Snowflake, please visit the Tor Forum and follow up the Snowflake tag.

Snowflake is available in Tor Browser stable for all platforms: Windows, macOS, GNU/Linux, and Android. You can also use Snowflake with Onion Browser on iOS.

If you're running Tor Browser for desktop for the first time, you can click on 'Tor Network Settings' on the start-up screen and then select 'Use a bridge'. Click on 'Select a built-in bridge' and choose 'snowflake' from the dropdown menu. Once you've selected Snowflake, scroll up and click 'Connect' to save your settings.

From within the browser, you can click on the hamburger menu ("≡"), then go to 'Preferences' and go to 'Tor'. Alternatively, you can also type about:preferences#tor in the url bar. Check 'Use a bridge' and 'Select a built-in bridge'. Then select 'snowflake' from the dropdown menu.

If your internet access is not censored, you should consider installing the Snowflake extension to help users in censored networks. When you run Snowflake on you regular browser, you will provide connection as a proxy to an entry node in the Tor Network, and that’s all.

Add-on

Firstly make sure you have WebRTC enabled. Then you can install this addon for Firefox or the add-on for Chrome which will let you become a Snowflake proxy. It can also inform you about how many people you have helped in the last 24 hours.

Web page

In a browser where WebRTC is enabled: If you don't want to add Snowflake to your browser, you can go to https://snowflake.torproject.org/embed and toggle the button to opt in to being a proxy. You shouldn't close that page if you want to remain a Snowflake proxy.

You might be on a network that is blocking the Tor network, and so you should try using bridges. Some bridges are built in to Tor Browser and requires only a few steps to enable it. When you open Tor Browser for the first time, click "Tor Network Settings". Under the "Bridges" section, select the checkbox "Use a bridge", and choose the "Select a built-in bridge" option. From the dropdown, select whichever pluggable transport you'd like to use. Once you've selected the pluggable transport, scroll up and click "Connect" to save your settings.

Or, if you have Tor Browser running, click on "Preferences" (or "Options" on Windows) in the hamburger menu (≡) and then on "Tor" in the sidebar. In the "Bridges" section, select the checkbox "Use a bridge", and from the option "Select a built-in bridge", choose whichever pluggable transport you'd like to use from the dropdown. Your settings will automatically be saved once you close the tab.

If you need other bridges, you can get them at our Bridges website. For more information about bridges, see the Tor Browser manual.

Users in China need to take a few steps to circumvent the Great Firewall and connect to the Tor network. First, get an updated version of Tor Browser: send an email to gettor@torproject.org with the subject "windows zh-cn" or other operating system (linux or macos).

After installing Tor Browser, you will probably not be able to connect directly to the Tor network, because the Great Firewall is blocking Tor. Therefore, the second step will be to obtain a bridge that works in China.

There are three options to unblock Tor in China:

  1. Snowflake: uses ephemeral proxies to connect to the Tor network. It's available in Tor Browser. You can select Snowflake from Tor Browser's built-in bridge dropdown.
  2. Private and unlisted obfs4 bridges: contact our Telegram Bot @GetBridgesBot and type /bridges. Or send an email to frontdesk@torproject.org with the phrase "private bridge" in the subject of the email. If you are tech-savvy, you can run your own obfs4 bridge from outside China. Remember that bridges distributed by BridgeDB, and built-in obfs4 bridges bundled in Tor Browser most likely won't work.
  3. meek-azure: makes it look like you are browsing a Microsoft website instead of using Tor. However, because it has a bandwidth limitation, this option will be quite slow. You can select meek-azure from Tor Browser's built-in bridges dropdown.

If one of these options above is not working, check your Tor logs and try another option.

Sometimes websites will block Tor users because they can't tell the difference between the average Tor user and automated traffic. The best success we've had in getting sites to unblock Tor users is getting users to contact the site administrators directly. Something like this might do the trick:

"Hi! I tried to access your site xyz.com while using Tor Browser and discovered that you don't allow Tor users to access your site. I urge you to reconsider this decision; Tor is used by people all over the world to protect their privacy and fight censorship. By blocking Tor users, you are likely blocking people in repressive countries who want to use a free internet, journalists and researchers who want to protect themselves from discovery, whistleblowers, activists, and ordinary people who want to opt out of invasive third party tracking. Please take a strong stance in favor of digital privacy and internet freedom, and allow Tor users access to xyz.com. Thank you."

In the case of banks, and other sensitive websites, it is also common to see geography-based blocking (if a bank knows you generally access their services from one country, and suddenly you are connecting from an exit relay on the other side of the world, your account may be locked or suspended).

If you are unable to connect to an onion service, please see I cannot reach X.onion!.