审查

如果你无法通过我们的网站下载 Tor 浏览器,你可以通过 GetTor 获取一份 Tor 浏览器的副本。 GetTor 是一项通过不同方式自动回复最新版 Tor 浏览器下载链接的服务。这些链接由不同处所托管,例如 Dropbox 、Google Drive 和 GitHub. 可以通过邮件或者 Telegram 自动程序https://t.me/gettor_bot请求。 可以从 https://tor.eff.org 或者 https://tor.calyxinstitute.org/下载 Tor 浏览器。

给 gettor@torproject.org 发送一封电子邮件 在邮件的正文中,写上你的操作系统的名称(如 Windows 、macOS 或 Linux)。 GetTor 将回复一封电子邮件,其中包含 Tor 浏览器的下载链接、加密签名(用于验证下载的文件)、用于签名的密钥指纹以及软件包的校验和。 你也许需要选择“32 位”或“64 位”版本:这和你的电脑有关,你可能需要查阅你电脑的说明书或与制造商联系来了解更多信息。

如果您怀疑您的政府或互联网服务提供商 (ISP) 实施了某种形式的互联网审查或过滤,您可以使用 OONI Probe 测试 Tor 网络是否被阻止。 OONI Probe 是由互联网干预开放观察(OONI) 开发的免费开源应用程序。 它旨在测试和衡量哪些网站、消息应用程序和规避工具可能被阻止。

在运行这些测量测试之前,请仔细阅读 OONI 的安全建议和风险评估。 与任何其他测试工具一样,请注意 OONI 的误报测试

要检查 Tor 是否被封锁,您可以在移动设备或桌面上安装 OONI Probe,并运行"绕过测试"。 OONI Tor 测试可以作为 Tor 网络潜在阻塞的指示,但我们开发人员的全面分析对于结论性评估至关重要。

毫无疑问,Tor 浏览器可以帮助人们访问所在地区被封锁的网站。 大多数时候,只需下载 Tor 浏览器,你就可以使用它去访问被屏蔽的网站。 对于网络受到严格审查地区,我们提供多种规避审查的选项,包括可插拔传输

更多信息,请参见Tor 浏览器用户手册中关于审查规避的部分

如果连接出现问题,将弹出错误信息,可选择“复制 Tor 日志到剪贴板”选项。 然后粘贴 Tor 日志到文本文件或者其他格式的文档。

如果你没有看到这个选项,打开 Tor 浏览器,找到汉堡菜单("≡"),然后点击“设置”,最后点击侧栏的“连接”。 在该页面底部,点击“查看 Tor 日志”旁边的“查看日志”按钮。

另外,在 GNU/Linux 上可通过终端直接查看日志:打开 Tor 浏览器目录,使用以下命令启动 Tor 浏览器:

./start-tor-browser.desktop --verbose

或将日志保存到文件(默认:tor-browser.log)

./start-tor-browser.desktop --log [file]

应看到以下常见的日志错误(在 Tor 日志中查找以下信息):

常见日志错误 #1:代理连接失败

2017-10-29 09:23:40.800 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server
2017-10-29 09:24:08.900 [WARN] Proxy Client: unable to connect to xx..xxx..xxx.xx:xxxxx ("general SOCKS server failure")

如果 Tor 日志显示以上类似信息,这表示连接 SOCKS 代理失败。 如果你的网络设置需要 SOCKS 代理,请确保正确输入代理详情。 如果不需要 SOCKS 代理,或者不确定,请尝试不用 SOCKS 代理连接 Tor 网络。

常见日志错误 #2:无法连接至守卫节点

11/1/2017 21:11:43 PM.500 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 80%: Connecting to the Tor network
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.500 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 85%: Finishing handshake with first hop
11/1/2017 21:11:45 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.

如果 Tor 日志显示以上类似信息,这表示 Tor 无法连接到 Tor 线路的第一个节点。 这可能表示,你所用的网络受到了审查。

请尝试通过网桥连接,这应该能解决问题。

常见日志错误 #3:无法完成 TLS 握手

13-11-17 19:52:24.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] Problem bootstrapping. Stuck at 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server. (DONE; DONE; count 10; recommendation warn; host [host] at xxx.xxx.xxx.xx:xxx) 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] 10 connections have failed: 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  9 connections died in state handshaking (TLS) with SSL state SSLv2/v3 read server hello A in HANDSHAKE 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  1 connections died in state connect()ing with SSL state (No SSL object)

如果 Tor 日志显示以上类似信息,这表示 Tor 无法完成与目录服务器的 TLS 握手。 使用网桥可能解决这个问题。

常见日志错误 #4:时钟偏差

19.11.2017 00:04:47.400 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.000 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.200 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.800 [WARN] Received NETINFO cell with skewed time (OR:xxx.xx.x.xx:xxxx): It seems that our clock is behind by 1 days, 0 hours, 1 minutes, or that theirs is ahead. Tor requires an accurate clock to work: please check your time, timezone, and date settings.

如果 Tor 日志显示以上类似信息,这表示你的系统时钟出错。 请确保系统时钟设置正确,包括正确的时区,然后重启 Tor。

网桥指未在 Tor 公共目录里列出的 Tor 中继节点。

这意味着,屏蔽 Tor 网络的政府或 ISP 无法彻底屏蔽所有网桥。 对于暴虐政权下的用户或者想要更多安全性的人们,网桥非常有用,因为他们担心有人会发现自己在使用 公开的 Tor 中继 IP 地址。

网桥不过时普通的中继,只是配置稍有不同。 请参阅如何运行网桥以获取相关指南。

一些国家,包括中国和伊朗,已经找到探测和屏蔽 Tor 网桥的方法。 Obfsproxy网桥通过增加一层混淆来解决这个问题。 运行 obfsproxy 网桥需要一些额外的软件包和配置。 更多信息,请参阅可插拔传输页面。

Snowflake 是 Tor 浏览器提供的可插拔传输根据,用于突破网络审查。 和 Tor 网桥一样,当普通 Tor 连接被屏蔽时,用户可以借助 Snowflake 访问开放互联网。 在 Tor 浏览器中使用 Snowflake 非常容易,类似于切换到新的网桥。

这个系统由三个部分组成:运行 Snowflake 代理的志愿者,想要连接到互联网的 Tor 用户,以及向用户分发 Snowflake 代理的中转站。

如果愿意帮助受审查用户,志愿者可在常规浏览器上搭建临时代理。请查看怎么使用 Snowflake?

Snowflake 使用非常有效的域名前置技术,可连接由成千上万的志愿者运营的 Snowflake 代理服务器。 这些临时的轻量代理易于搭建。相对于之前的技术,Snowflake 更容易进行扩展。

对于受到被审查的用户,如果你的 Snowflake 代理被屏蔽,中转站将自动为你寻找新的代理。

如果你对技术细节和规范感兴趣,请参阅 Snowflake 技术概述项目页面。 有关 Snowflake 的其他讨论,请访问 Tor 论坛并关注 Snowflake 标签

在所有平台的 Tor 浏览器稳定版中,都可以使用 Snowflake:Windows、macOS、GNU/Linux 和 Android。 你也可以在 iOS 上的 Onion Browser来使用 Snowflake。

如果第一次运行桌面版 Tor 浏览器,你可以在启动屏幕上点击“配置连接”。 在“网桥”部分,找到选项“选择 Tor 浏览器内置网桥”,然后点击“选择内置网桥”。 从菜单选择“Snowflake”。 选择 Snowflake 之后,向上滚动并点击“连接”以保存你的设置。

在浏览器内,你可以点击汉堡菜单("≡"),然后点击“设置”并打开“连接”。 另外,可以在地址栏中输入 about:preferences#connection 。 在“网桥”部分,找到选项“选择 Tor 浏览器内置网桥”,然后点击“选择内置网桥”。 从菜单选择“Snowflake”。

如果你的互联网连接没有受到审查,你应考虑安装 Snowflake 扩展,以帮助受审查网络中的用户。 当您在常规浏览器上运行 Snowflake 时,您将在被审查的用户和 Tor 网络中的入口节点之间代理流量,仅此而已。

由于某些国家对 VPN 服务器进行审查,我们恳请您在连接 VPN 时不要运行 snowflake 代理。

附加组件

首先确认你已启用 WebRTC。 然后你可以安装这个 Firefox 附加组件Chrome 扩展程序,这将使你成为 Snowflake 代理。 它还可以显示,在过去 24 小时内你帮助了多少人。

网页

在启用 WebRTC 的浏览器中: 如果不想在浏览器中添加 Snowflake,你可以访问 https://snowflake.torproject.org/embed ,并点击按钮以选择成为代理。 如果想要继续运行 Snowflake 代理,请勿关闭那个页面。

中国用户需额外步骤绕过防火长城连接到 Tor 网络。

To get an updated version of Tor Browser, try the Telegram bot first: @gettor_bot. 如果不起作用,可以发送邮件至 gettor@torproject.org,并根据相应的操作系统,在邮件主题上写明“Windows”、“Macos”或“linux”操作系统。

安装后,Tor 浏览器将尝试连接 Tor 网络。 如果所在地屏蔽了 Tor,链接助手将试图通过网桥或者 Snowflake 连接。 但是如果这样也无法连接,第二步是获得在中国可以使用的网桥。

在中国使用 Tor 有三种选项:

  1. Snowflake使用临时代理连接到 Tor 网络。 它可以在 Tor 浏览器和其他由 Tor 驱动的应用程序中使用,如Orbot。 你可以从 Tor 浏览器的内置网桥菜单中选择 Snowflake。
  2. 未公开的私密 obfs4 网桥:找到我们的 Telegram 机器人 @GetBridgesBot 并发送 /bridges 来获取网桥。 或者发送邮件到 frontdesk@torproject.org,并且邮件主题需要包含“private bridge cn”。 如果你懂些计算机技术,可以自己在中国境外搭建并运行 obfs4 网桥。 需要注意的是,通过 BridgeDB 获取的网桥以及 Tor 浏览器内置的 obfs4 网桥,很可能无法使用。
  3. meek-azure:能让你伪装成访问微软的网站,而不是 Tor。 不过,因带宽限制这种网桥连接较慢。 你可以在 Tor 浏览器的内置网桥下拉菜单中选择 meek-azure。

如果以上某个选项无法使用,请查看 Tor 日志并尝试其他方法。

If you need help, you can contact our support team on Telegram Tor Project Support and Signal.

If you have exhausted general troubleshooting steps, it's possible that your connection to Tor is censored. In that case, connecting with one of the built-in censorship circumvention methods in Tor Browser can help. Connection Assist can automatically choose one for you using your location.

If Connection Assist is unable to facilitate the connection to Tor, you can configure Tor Browser to use one of the built-in circumvention methods manually. To use bridges and access other censorship circumvention related settings, click "Configure Connection" when starting Tor Browser for the first time. In the "Bridges" section, locate the option "Choose from one of Tor Browser's built-in bridges" and click on the "Select a built-In bridge" option. From the menu, select a censorship circumvention method you would like to use.

或者,如果正在运行 Tor 浏览器,请点击汉堡菜单 (≡) 中的“设置”,然后点击侧边栏中的“连接”。 In the "Bridges" section, locate the option "Choose from one of Tor Browser's built-in bridges" and click on the "Select a built-In bridge" option. Choose whichever censorship circumvention method you would like to use from the menu. Your settings will automatically be saved once you close the tab.

If you need other bridges, you can get them from our Bridges website. For more information about bridges, please refer to the Tor Browser user manual.

在我们的论坛指南上找到最新的指导,了解如何绕过审查并从俄罗斯连接到 Tor:Tor在俄罗斯被封锁 - 如何绕过审查

如果需要帮助,可以 Telegram https://t.me/TorProjectSupportBot , WhatsApp, Signal或者电子邮件frontdesk@torproject.org 联系我们。 要获取绕过审查的指令,请使用"private bridge ru"作为您电子邮件的主题行。

有些网站无法分辨普通 Tor 用户和自动流量,因而屏蔽 Tor 用户。 让网站取消对 Tor 用户的屏蔽,最好的方式是用户直接联系网站管理员。 这么做也许能解决你的问题:

“你好!我使用 Tor 浏览器访问 xyz.com ,发现你们不允许 Tor 用户访问访问该网站。 我呼吁你们重新考虑这个决定;在世界各地,许多人使用 Tor 来保护隐私和对抗审查。 通过屏蔽 Tor 用户,你可能同时屏蔽了专制国家需要自由互联网的用户、希望隐藏自己避免被发现的研究人员和记者、揭秘吹哨人、社会活动家、以及只是希望不被第三方跟踪的普通人。 请采取坚定的立场,支持数字隐私和互联网自由,允许 Tor 用户访问 xyz.com。谢谢。”

另外,银行等比较敏感的网站经常采用地域性屏蔽(例如,如果平时只在某个特定国家使用其服务,从其他国家访问时,你的账号可能就会被冻结)。

如果你不能连接到洋葱服务器,请查阅我无法访问 X.onion!

Censorship

If you can't download Tor Browser through our website, you can get a copy of Tor Browser delivered to you via GetTor. GetTor is a service that automatically responds to messages with links to the latest version of Tor Browser, hosted at a variety of locations that are less likely to be censored, such as Dropbox, Google Drive, and GitHub. You can also download Tor Browser from https://tor.eff.org or from https://tor.calyxinstitute.org/.

Send an email to gettor@torproject.org. In the body of the mail, write the name of your operating system (such as Windows, macOS, or Linux). GetTor will respond with an email containing links from which you can download Tor Browser, the cryptographic signature (needed for verifying the download), the fingerprint of the key used to make the signature, and the package’s checksum. You may be offered a choice of "32-bit" or "64-bit" software: this depends on the model of the computer you are using; consult documentation about your computer to find out more.

GetTor via Twitter is currently under maintenance. Please use the email instead.

Tor Browser can certainly help people access your website in places where it is blocked. Most of the time, simply downloading the Tor Browser and then using it to navigate to the blocked site will allow access. In places where there is heavy censorship we have a number of censorship circumvention options available, including pluggable transports.

For more information, please see the Tor Browser User Manual section on censorship circumvention.

If you’re having trouble connecting, an error message may appear and you can select the option to "copy Tor log to clipboard". Then paste the Tor log into a text file or other document.

If you don't see this option and you have Tor Browser open, you can navigate to the hamburger menu ("≡"), then click on "Preferences", and finally on "Tor" in the side bar. At the bottom of the page, next to the "View the Tor logs" text, click the button "View Logs...".

Alternatively, on GNU/Linux, to view the logs right in the terminal, navigate to the Tor Browser directory and launch the Tor Browser from the command line by running:

./start-tor-browser.desktop --verbose

or to save the logs to a file (default: tor-browser.log)

./start-tor-browser.desktop --log [file]

You should see one of these common log errors (look for the following lines in your Tor log):

Common log error #1: Proxy connection failure

2017-10-29 09:23:40.800 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server
2017-10-29 09:23:47.900 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server
2017-10-29 09:24:08.900 [WARN] Proxy Client: unable to connect to xx..xxx..xxx.xx:xxxxx ("general SOCKS server failure")

If you see lines like these in your Tor log, it means you are failing to connect to a SOCKS proxy. If a SOCKS proxy is required for your network setup, then please make sure you’ve entered your proxy details correctly. If a SOCKS proxy is not required, or you’re not sure, please try connecting to the Tor network without a SOCKS proxy.

Common log error #2: Can’t reach guard relays

11/1/2017 21:11:43 PM.500 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 80%: Connecting to the Tor network
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.
11/1/2017 21:11:44 PM.500 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 85%: Finishing handshake with first hop
11/1/2017 21:11:45 PM.300 [WARN] Failed to find node for hop 0 of our path. Discarding this circuit.

If you see lines like these in your Tor log, it means your Tor failed to connect to the first node in the Tor circuit. This could mean that you’re on a network that’s censored.

Please try connecting with bridges, and that should fix the problem.

Common log error #3: Failed to complete TLS handshake

13-11-17 19:52:24.300 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] Problem bootstrapping. Stuck at 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server. (DONE; DONE; count 10; recommendation warn; host [host] at xxx.xxx.xxx.xx:xxx) 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN] 10 connections have failed: 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  9 connections died in state handshaking (TLS) with SSL state SSLv2/v3 read server hello A in HANDSHAKE 
13-11-17 19:53:49.300 [WARN]  1 connections died in state connect()ing with SSL state (No SSL object)

If you see lines like this in your Tor log, it means that Tor failed to complete a TLS handshake with the directory authorities. Using bridges will likely fix this.

Common log error #4: Clock skew

19.11.2017 00:04:47.400 [NOTICE] Opening Socks listener on 127.0.0.1:9150 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.000 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 5%: Connecting to directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.200 [NOTICE] Bootstrapped 10%: Finishing handshake with directory server 
19.11.2017 00:04:48.800 [WARN] Received NETINFO cell with skewed time (OR:xxx.xx.x.xx:xxxx): It seems that our clock is behind by 1 days, 0 hours, 1 minutes, or that theirs is ahead. Tor requires an accurate clock to work: please check your time, timezone, and date settings.

If you see lines like this in your Tor log, it means your system clock is incorrect. Please make sure your clock is set accurately, including the correct timezone. Then restart Tor.

Bridge relays are Tor relays that are not listed in the public Tor directory.

That means that ISPs or governments trying to block access to the Tor network can't simply block all bridges. Bridges are useful for Tor users under oppressive regimes, and for people who want an extra layer of security because they're worried somebody will recognize that they are contacting a public Tor relay IP address.

A bridge is just a normal relay with a slightly different configuration. See How do I run a bridge for instructions.

Several countries, including China and Iran, have found ways to detect and block connections to Tor bridges. Obfsproxy bridges address this by adding another layer of obfuscation. Setting up an obfsproxy bridge requires an additional software package and additional configurations. See our page on pluggable transports for more info.

Snowflake is a pluggable transport available in Tor Browser to defeat internet censorship. Like a Tor bridge, a user can access the open internet when even regular Tor connections are censored. To use Snowflake is as easy as to switch to a new bridge configuration in Tor Browser.

This system is composed of three components: volunteers running Snowflake proxies, Tor users that want to connect to the internet, and a broker, that delivers snowflake proxies to users.

Volunteers willing to help users on censored networks can help by spinning short-lived proxies on their regular browsers. Check, how can I use Snowflake?

Snowflake uses the highly effective domain fronting technique to make a connection to one of the thousands of snowflake proxies run by volunteers. These proxies are lightweight, ephemeral, and easy to run, allowing us to scale Snowflake more easily than previous techniques.

For censored users, if your Snowflake proxy gets blocked, the broker will find a new proxy for you, automatically.

If you're interested in the technical details and specification, see the Snowflake Technical Overview and the project page. For other discussions about Snowflake, please visit the Tor Forum and follow up the Snowflake tag.

Snowflake is available in Tor Browser stable for all platforms: Windows, macOS, GNU/Linux, and Android. You can also use Snowflake with Onion Browser on iOS.

If you're running Tor Browser for desktop for the first time, you can click on 'Tor Network Settings' on the start-up screen and then select 'Use a bridge'. Click on 'Select a built-in bridge' and choose 'snowflake' from the dropdown menu. Once you've selected Snowflake, scroll up and click 'Connect' to save your settings.

From within the browser, you can click on the hamburger menu ("≡"), then go to 'Preferences' and go to 'Tor'. Alternatively, you can also type about:preferences#tor in the url bar. Check 'Use a bridge' and 'Select a built-in bridge'. Then select 'snowflake' from the dropdown menu.

If your internet access is not censored, you should consider installing the Snowflake extension to help users in censored networks. When you run Snowflake on you regular browser, you will provide connection as a proxy to an entry node in the Tor Network, and that’s all.

Add-on

Firstly make sure you have WebRTC enabled. Then you can install this addon for Firefox or the add-on for Chrome which will let you become a Snowflake proxy. It can also inform you about how many people you have helped in the last 24 hours.

Web page

In a browser where WebRTC is enabled: If you don't want to add Snowflake to your browser, you can go to https://snowflake.torproject.org/embed and toggle the button to opt in to being a proxy. You shouldn't close that page if you want to remain a Snowflake proxy.

You might be on a network that is blocking the Tor network, and so you should try using bridges. Some bridges are built in to Tor Browser and requires only a few steps to enable it. When you open Tor Browser for the first time, click "Tor Network Settings". Under the "Bridges" section, select the checkbox "Use a bridge", and choose the "Select a built-in bridge" option. From the dropdown, select whichever pluggable transport you'd like to use. Once you've selected the pluggable transport, scroll up and click "Connect" to save your settings.

Or, if you have Tor Browser running, click on "Preferences" (or "Options" on Windows) in the hamburger menu (≡) and then on "Tor" in the sidebar. In the "Bridges" section, select the checkbox "Use a bridge", and from the option "Select a built-in bridge", choose whichever pluggable transport you'd like to use from the dropdown. Your settings will automatically be saved once you close the tab.

If you need other bridges, you can get them at our Bridges website. For more information about bridges, see the Tor Browser manual.

Users in China need to take a few steps to circumvent the Great Firewall and connect to the Tor network. First, get an updated version of Tor Browser: send an email to gettor@torproject.org with the subject "windows zh-cn" or other operating system (linux or macos).

After installing Tor Browser, you will probably not be able to connect directly to the Tor network, because the Great Firewall is blocking Tor. Therefore, the second step will be to obtain a bridge that works in China.

There are three options to unblock Tor in China:

  1. Snowflake: uses ephemeral proxies to connect to the Tor network. It's available in Tor Browser. You can select Snowflake from Tor Browser's built-in bridge dropdown.
  2. Private and unlisted obfs4 bridges: contact our Telegram Bot @GetBridgesBot and type /bridges. Or send an email to frontdesk@torproject.org with the phrase "private bridge" in the subject of the email. If you are tech-savvy, you can run your own obfs4 bridge from outside China. Remember that bridges distributed by BridgeDB, and built-in obfs4 bridges bundled in Tor Browser most likely won't work.
  3. meek-azure: makes it look like you are browsing a Microsoft website instead of using Tor. However, because it has a bandwidth limitation, this option will be quite slow. You can select meek-azure from Tor Browser's built-in bridges dropdown.

If one of these options above is not working, check your Tor logs and try another option.

Sometimes websites will block Tor users because they can't tell the difference between the average Tor user and automated traffic. The best success we've had in getting sites to unblock Tor users is getting users to contact the site administrators directly. Something like this might do the trick:

"Hi! I tried to access your site xyz.com while using Tor Browser and discovered that you don't allow Tor users to access your site. I urge you to reconsider this decision; Tor is used by people all over the world to protect their privacy and fight censorship. By blocking Tor users, you are likely blocking people in repressive countries who want to use a free internet, journalists and researchers who want to protect themselves from discovery, whistleblowers, activists, and ordinary people who want to opt out of invasive third party tracking. Please take a strong stance in favor of digital privacy and internet freedom, and allow Tor users access to xyz.com. Thank you."

In the case of banks, and other sensitive websites, it is also common to see geography-based blocking (if a bank knows you generally access their services from one country, and suddenly you are connecting from an exit relay on the other side of the world, your account may be locked or suspended).

If you are unable to connect to an onion service, please see I cannot reach X.onion!.